Bookstagram · Haul

December Book Haul!

Hey, guys! Long post ahead!

So, as you know (or I hope you know), my plunge into bookish projects started over at Instagram a few months back. Every month, I look for challenges to keep my creativity flowing and organize my pictures. There are always book haul days but since I had been storing my books at my friend’s house in Orlando, I didn’t feel like doing a whole post about just one book and sometimes, there weren’t any new additions.

BUT! Today is different and I am giddy with excitement because the final book count is…

*drum rolls*

22 New books!

Unfortunately, if you head over to my IG profile later today, there will only be 18 books, since those are the ones I got for myself and took pictures of prior to Christmas, when I got four more. That is the reason why I decided to initiate the Book Haul section in my blog and showcase all of them!

The haul will be divided in 2 parts, simply because it is too much information and I believe a blog post should not be too long as it may bore readers. So, this is part 1!

Let’s begin, then!

  • The Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This series is first on this post because it’s been left out of the original haul photo. They were a Christmas present and I am so excited to start reading them!

These books center on 17-year-old Juliette whose touch is deadly and is placed in confinement by The Reestablishment as they attempt to fix bigger problems at hand. But then, they realize they may use Juliette to achieve their goals. Thus, Juliette must decide if she is willing to become a weapon or a warrior.

The series is made up by Shatter MeUnravel Me, and Ignite Me. Then there is Unite Me, which is a compilation of novellas (Destroy Me, Fracture Me and Juliette’s Journal) that take place in different times of the story. Destroy Me takes place somewhere between books 1 and 2, while Fracture Me happens between books 2 and 3.

  • The Raven Circle Series by Maggie Stiefvater

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

An unlikely group stumbles across ancient magic in Virginia: Blue, the daughter of the town psychic in Henrietta, Virginia, who has been told for as long as she can remember that if she ever kisses her true love, he will die. Gansey, who seeks the Welsh magic he believes saved his life. Adam, who searches for a way out of the circumstances he was born into. Ronan, who seeks to recover the magic of his childhood.

The series is made up by The Raven Boys; The Dream Thieves; Blue Lily, Lily Blue and The Raven King. I’ve been meaning to get these books for almost a year and they are finally on my shelves!

  • The Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

This series is made up by Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom.

  • Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

In the first full-length biography of Alexander Hamilton in decades, Ron Chernow tells the riveting story of a man who overcame all odds to shape, inspire, and scandalize the newborn America.

Given my Hamilton obsession, I had to buy this biography and get a chance to read the pages and words that made Lin-Manuel Miranda say “This is my next show.”

  • I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

  • Hemingway in Love by A.E. Hotchner

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Hemingway divulged to Hotchner the details of the affair that destroyed his first marriage: the truth of his romantic life in Paris and how he lost Hadley, the real part of each literary woman he’d later create and the great love he spent the rest of his life seeking.

I just had to get this book because I have a huge obsession with Hemingway and his life in Paris with Hadley Richardson. I don’t know why but their story just captivates me and I am down with reading any and all books related to their expatriate years.

  • Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

As I said before, Hamilton is everything. So of course I had to get this book. It includes cast pictures, lyrics and many articles on several themes arching from the play, to the music and the cast and crew.

I am going to stop this haul here and continue in a new post, since I think it is way too long to be read comfortably.

Stay tuned for Part 2!

signature

Leave a Reply

